• Ciao Chao
  • Posts
  • Covers and Art and Pre-orders Oh My!

Covers and Art and Pre-orders Oh My!

All the fun stuff!

THIS IS NOT A DRILL: The Cover has Landed!

I am so excited to finally finally share with you the beautiful cover of SHANGHAI IMMORTAL! ::heart eyes forever:: It has been such an amazing journey from first concept sketches to the final art. Hodderscape’s Natalie Chen designed the cover, pulling in all these elements that represent the book, including the genius upside-down buildings that line the Shanghai Bund, and then illustrator Weitong Mai worked her magic. The cover is absolutely stunning and I am so grateful and honoured to be working with such a stellar team at Hodderscape.

Paste Magazine did a cracking cover reveal and first chapter sneak peek yesterday as well, just to add to the overall excitement. My mobile phone was blowing up with all the notifications. Thank you to everyone who read and tweeted and instagrammed the cover! You can read it here.

ARCs

If you would like to review an e-Advance Reader Copy, SHANGHAI IMMORTAL is up on Netgalley UK.

If you are a booktokker/bookstagrammer/bookblogger in the UK you can also request a proof for review here.

If you’d like to add the book to your Goodreads (I’ll be doing a giveaway on Goodreads soon, so having it on your TBR will keep you in the loop!) you can add it here.

Release Dates

The worldwide release day (apart from North America) is 1 June 2023. I’ll call this the UK edition. The North American release day is 31 October 2023.

SHANGHAI IMMORTAL is available to pre-order from all the major UK retailers. For North American readers who don’t want to wait until the 31 October, and all other international readers, you can pre-order the UK edition from Book Depository which offers free shipping to a huge number of countries, including USA and Canada.

Pre-Order Swag

Aaaaannd because pre-ordering is such a HUGE help to authors trying to carve out a sustainable career in publishing, I’m putting together swag packs as a thank you! I’m aiming to send these out in April. The packs will include the Tony and Lady Jing Tootsie roll art card I shared with you last newsletter, art of Lady Jing in full deity regalia (water sleeves, floating ribbons and done up hair, much to her horror lol), bookmarks and possibly another goody or two.

I’m also making a limited number of special teahouse pop-up art cards for the swag packs. The unfinished sample pop-up pictured above gives a rough idea of what the pop-up will look like. It still needs to be coloured and there are a few finishing bits that I forgot to add to the sample. The middle insert comes out and doubles as a bookmark. Suffice it to say it’s gonna be gorgeous. However, because I have to assemble these babies by hand, there’s a limited run on how many I can make (and not drive myself into a frenzied panic). I’m capping them for the time being to the first 50 people who fill in the pre-order swag form. If I can find a good and economical die cut printers then I might consider increasing that number. We’ll see how finicky it is to make 50 of them. After the pop-ups run out, the swag packs will include a regular flat art card of the tea house. Hui Qing Ang is the talent and genius behind the character art and the special teahouse pop-up art card, so you are in for a treat!

Open worldwide. One swag pack per person while stocks and postage funds last. Swag packs are limited so get in early!

Current Reads: All the Betas!

Everything is on hold while I work through my beta reads!

Speak anon,

Alice x